Browse / Business & Economics
Organizing America 9780691089546

Organizing America

Wealth, Power, and the Origins of Corporate Capitalism

ISBN-10: 069108954X
ISBN-13: 9780691089546
AUTHOR:
PUBLISHER: Princeton University Press
Also available at Amazon.com
Note: Not guaranteed to come with supplemental materials (access codes, CDs, DVDs)
Product Description:

American society today is shaped not nearly as much by vast open spaces as it is by vast, bureaucratic organizations. Over half the working population toils away at enterprises with 500 or more employees--up from zero percent in 1800. Is this institutional immensity the logical outcome of technological forces in an all-efficient market, as some have argued? In this book, the first organizational history of nineteenth-century America, Yale sociologist Charles Perrow says no. He shows that there was nothing inevitable about the surge in corporate size and power by century's end. Critics railed against the nationalizing of the economy, against corporations' monopoly powers, political subversion, environmental destruction, and "wage slavery." How did a nation committed to individual freedom, family firms, public goods, and decentralized power become transformed in one century?


Bountiful resources, a mass market, and the industrial revolution gave entrepreneurs broad scope. In Europe, the state and the church kept private organizations small and required consideration of the public good. In America, the courts and business-steeped legislators removed regulatory constraints over the century, centralizing industry and privatizing the railroads. Despite resistance, the corporate form became the model for the next century. Bureaucratic structure spread to government and the nonprofits. Writing in the tradition of Max Weber, Perrow concludes that the driving force of our history is not technology, politics, or culture, but large, bureaucratic organizations.


Perrow, the author of award-winning books on organizations, employs his witty, trenchant, and graceful style here to maximum effect. Colorful vignettes abound: today's headlines echo past battles for unchecked organizational freedom; socially responsible alternatives that were tried are explored along with the historical contingencies that sent us down one road rather than another. No other book takes the role of organizations in America's development as seriously. The resultant insights presage a new historical genre.


Additional Details


PUBLICATION DATE:
PAGES: 272
CATEGORY: Business & Economics, History, Social Science
Star

21 Day Unconditional Guarantee

any book, any reason

Rent This Book Now:

Price guaranteed for 45:00 longer
Due May 15 $16.50
130 days (due Jul 8) $18.38
85 days (due May 24) $16.72
55 days (due Apr 24) $15.99
Select Your Own Date
--

Buy this book used:

$28.38

List Price: $53.00
Your Savings:
Total Price:
 

REVIEWS for Organizing America


Select a star rating

FAQ'S

1. How do textbook rentals work?
It’s simple. Begin by searching for your textbook by ISBN (10 or 13-digit number that can be found on the back cover of each book), title, author or keyword. Next select how long you would like to rent the book then add it to your cart. Repeat for each book you’re looking for. After completing the order we’ll ship them to you and you’ll also receive a prepaid mailer. Return your books in the mailer by your rental due date.
2. Is renting a textbook better than purchasing it?
We offer both! You can buy or rent the book through Campus Book Rentals. It’s up to you to decide which option best meets your educational needs.
3. How do I track my order?
Login to your account here, you’ll see your current rentals listed textbook rentals listed with a yellow box that says “track”. Click the box to view the tracking number. *Not all books will have a tracking number since they may be sent from one of our partners. Tracking numbers will be updated as they become available.
4. How do I return my books?
When you rent textbooks from Campus Book Rentals you’ll receive a prepaid mailer. When it’s nearing your due date you’ll place your books inside the mailer and take it to the nearest USPS drop box or Post Office. If you don’t receive a mailer you can print a return label from your account. Return shipping is prepaid so please use either of the two methods to ensure they arrive at the correct facility.
5. Can I write or highlight in my book?
Of course! Just remember that future students will rent the same book after you, so please be respectful.
6. How much money can renting my books save?
It depends on the book. Generally renting textbooks can save you up to 80% compared to a new textbook.
7. Are Campus Book Rentals’ books the same as my bookstore’s?
Yes! We only ship US edition textbooks, which are the same as your campus bookstore.
8. Do access codes or other supplements come with a textbook rental?
One time use access codes and other supplemental materials are NOT included with rental books and must be purchased separately.
9. What if I don’t return my rental?
If your book rental is not returned by the due date, your credit card will be charged a non-return fee, equal to the replacement value for the book.
10. Can I purchase my book after I rent it?
Certainty! You’re only charged the difference between what you already paid and the value of the book at the time you initially rented. Login to your account and choose to purchase your book and it’ll walk you through the checkout process.

Textbook Rentals

We know that textbook rentals are the best way currently to distribute high quality textbooks, and we want to have you on board! Join over a million students that have saved money by renting! Not only is it better for you, but when you return it that book can go on to help even more students access affordable education. We're confident we offer the best value in rentals, but if you're not a believer you can always return your book for a no questions asked refund within 21 days.

Why Choose Us?

1. Campus Book Rentals pioneered the idea of textbook rentals, making prices significantly cheaper for every student while still maintaining the highest quality. We've been at it since 2007 and the entire industry has had to adapt to keep up.

2. Though keeping prices low has always been the goal, we can boast an excellent support team that has helped thousands of students get the best value for their education. Chat with them at 855-200-0021 or use our chat box.

3. We practice what we preach. We routinely read our own textbooks to further our own education while at work. We know that only with a well-educated team of individuals can we continue to change the industry for the better.

Make A Difference

At Campus Book Rentals our company is guided by a single question, "How are we making education more affordable?" We know that getting a college education is quickly becoming a rite of passage for students and is becoming more important every year. In order to make education more attainable for the 99%, we started renting textbooks so students could avoid high purchase prices and buyback programs. We know it's a better way, and we're going to show everyone how to make a college education affordable again.