Browse / Law
The Impact of Armed Conflict on Children 9780312294229

The Impact of Armed Conflict on Children

A Critical Review of Progress Made and Obstacles Encountered in Increasing Protection for War-Affect...

ISBN-10: 0312294220
ISBN-13: 9780312294229
AUTHOR:
PUBLISHER: Palgrave Macmillan
Also available at Amazon.com
Note: Not guaranteed to come with supplemental materials (access codes, CDs, DVDs)
Product Description: In the tradition of Scott Turow, William Landay, and Nelson DeMille, "Crime of Privilege" is a stunning thriller about power, corruption, and the law in America--and the dangerous ways they come together.
A murder on Cape Cod. A rape in Palm Beach.
All they have in common is the presence of one of America's most beloved and influential families. But nobody is asking questions. Not the police. Not the prosecutors. And certainly not George Becket, a young lawyer toiling away in the basement of the Cape & Islands district attorney's office. George has always lived at the edge of power. He wasn't born to privilege, but he understands how it works and has benefitted from it in ways he doesn't like to admit. Now, an investigation brings him deep inside the world of the truly wealthy--and shows him what a perilous place it is.
Years have passed since a young woman was found brutally slain at an exclusive Cape Cod golf club, and no one has ever been charged. Cornered by the victim's father, George can't explain why certain leads were never explored--leads that point in the direction of a single family--and he agrees to look into it.
What begins as a search through the highly stratified layers of Cape Cod society, soon has George racing from Idaho to Hawaii, Costa Rica to France to New York City. But everywhere he goes he discovers people like himself: people with more secrets than answers, people haunted by a decision years past to trade silence for protection from life's sharp edges. George finds his friends are not necessarily still friends and a spouse can be unfaithful in more ways than one. And despite threats at every turn, he is driven to reconstruct the victim's last hours while searching not only for a killer but for his own redemption.
Praise for "Crime of Privilege"
"Twisting, engrossing, irresistible."--William Landay, author of "Defending Jacob"
"Stunning . . . an outstanding crime story."--"Library Journal "(starred review)
"A terrifically entertaining race of a read . . . jam-packed with intelligence, insight, morality and heart. Top-notch and highly recommended "--John Lescroart
"A gripping thriller . . . an unsettling, multilayered look at the insidious symbiosis between power and corruption."--"Maclean's"
"A legal thriller and a murder mystery cloaked in pure enjoyment . . . The author's wit, dry and cutting, is razor-sharp."--"Bookreporter"
" "
"An engaging, very well-paced novel . . . exciting and unpredictable.""--Examiner.com"

Additional Details


PUBLICATION DATE:
PAGES: 249
CATEGORY: Law, Social Science
Star

21 Day Unconditional Guarantee

any book, any reason

Rent This Book Now:

Price guaranteed for 45:00 longer
Due May 15 $14.43
Select Your Own Date
--

Buy this book used:

$21.96

List Price: $35.00
Your Savings:
Total Price:
 

REVIEWS for The Impact of Armed Conflict on Children


Select a star rating

FAQ'S

1. How do textbook rentals work?
It’s simple. Begin by searching for your textbook by ISBN (10 or 13-digit number that can be found on the back cover of each book), title, author or keyword. Next select how long you would like to rent the book then add it to your cart. Repeat for each book you’re looking for. After completing the order we’ll ship them to you and you’ll also receive a prepaid mailer. Return your books in the mailer by your rental due date.
2. Is renting a textbook better than purchasing it?
We offer both! You can buy or rent the book through Campus Book Rentals. It’s up to you to decide which option best meets your educational needs.
3. How do I track my order?
Login to your account here, you’ll see your current rentals listed textbook rentals listed with a yellow box that says “track”. Click the box to view the tracking number. *Not all books will have a tracking number since they may be sent from one of our partners. Tracking numbers will be updated as they become available.
4. How do I return my books?
When you rent textbooks from Campus Book Rentals you’ll receive a prepaid mailer. When it’s nearing your due date you’ll place your books inside the mailer and take it to the nearest USPS drop box or Post Office. If you don’t receive a mailer you can print a return label from your account. Return shipping is prepaid so please use either of the two methods to ensure they arrive at the correct facility.
5. Can I write or highlight in my book?
Of course! Just remember that future students will rent the same book after you, so please be respectful.
6. How much money can renting my books save?
It depends on the book. Generally renting textbooks can save you up to 80% compared to a new textbook.
7. Are Campus Book Rentals’ books the same as my bookstore’s?
Yes! We only ship US edition textbooks, which are the same as your campus bookstore.
8. Do access codes or other supplements come with a textbook rental?
One time use access codes and other supplemental materials are NOT included with rental books and must be purchased separately.
9. What if I don’t return my rental?
If your book rental is not returned by the due date, your credit card will be charged a non-return fee, equal to the replacement value for the book.
10. Can I purchase my book after I rent it?
Certainty! You’re only charged the difference between what you already paid and the value of the book at the time you initially rented. Login to your account and choose to purchase your book and it’ll walk you through the checkout process.

Textbook Rentals

We know that textbook rentals are the best way currently to distribute high quality textbooks, and we want to have you on board! Join over a million students that have saved money by renting! Not only is it better for you, but when you return it that book can go on to help even more students access affordable education. We're confident we offer the best value in rentals, but if you're not a believer you can always return your book for a no questions asked refund within 21 days.

Why Choose Us?

1. Campus Book Rentals pioneered the idea of textbook rentals, making prices significantly cheaper for every student while still maintaining the highest quality. We've been at it since 2007 and the entire industry has had to adapt to keep up.

2. Though keeping prices low has always been the goal, we can boast an excellent support team that has helped thousands of students get the best value for their education. Chat with them at 855-200-0021 or use our chat box.

3. We practice what we preach. We routinely read our own textbooks to further our own education while at work. We know that only with a well-educated team of individuals can we continue to change the industry for the better.

Make A Difference

At Campus Book Rentals our company is guided by a single question, "How are we making education more affordable?" We know that getting a college education is quickly becoming a rite of passage for students and is becoming more important every year. In order to make education more attainable for the 99%, we started renting textbooks so students could avoid high purchase prices and buyback programs. We know it's a better way, and we're going to show everyone how to make a college education affordable again.